top of page
Search
  • Clean Culture

An Important Step in Forming a Solution

When going through the process of ideation and product development one with often encounter problems. I have run into a problem of my own, but I would rather call it a pivot point. A pivot point suggests that I am still able to find a solution I just have to find a different way to discover it, that is why I like the idea of pivoting better than road blocking. My pivoting point was when I discussed the viability of testing methanotrophs with a biology teacher at Pomperaug High School. We talked about how cultivating the bacteria would most likely be too difficult to make testing possible, some of the required equipment isn't even at our school. The methanotrophs are supposed to be shaken for three to seven days, while being provided a mixture of 50% air and 50% methane. This makes it impossible for me to form an experiment where I use methanotrophs, so I will focus on creating an experiment where I test different systems of collection and filtration.


One reason that I believe switching my view to collection and filtration would make my product viable for Expo, is because with data that is already published I can prove that if the methanotrophs were in the filter then it would digest the methane. This is how I will make my solution viable scientifically and gather data that I can show the judges at Expo.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page